Cat’s Eye 7 PV

I’m not going to speak like I’m much of an expert here … even though I’ve seen my fair share of H!P kids (how about that Berikyu?) I still feel like I don’t know them all that well.  From what I can tell, this is a subgroup that was formed to promote the play “Cat’s Eye,” in which the members of Cat’s Eye participate.  So let me get this straight: the play is called “Cat’s Eye,” the song is called “Cat’s Eye” and the group is called Cat’s Eye 7?  Something about art their sisters and a revolving cast?  Alright then, let’s take a look

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIU1ar0ILOc]

more after the jump

First of all, there’s a huge CG water burst right in the beginning, and the resultant water drops litter the screen throughout the PV.  I suppose this was meant  to add depth to the PV.  While I’m at it, there is also a notable amount of lens flare going on in this PV as well.  The girls lit in a way that evokes a helicopter searchlight looking for those art thief sisters (I suppose).  All of this distracts from the fact that this PV is basically a single dance shot.

Looking at the outfits, well there isn’t much to write about, literally.  It’s a bellybutton show through and through.  This should catch the eyes  of some viewers.  Each member also has a member-colored collar, belt and hip cloth.  I wish the hip cloth/skirt thing would have moved better and accented the dance more.  Overall the outfits pass my scratch test.  There’s not much denying that the girls look great wearing them.

Finally: the music.  The first thing to point out is the generous use of autotune.  I’m not a huge fan of autotune, I didn’t grow up with it; but I’m not an automatic “autotune=fail” person either.  The girls don’t sound bad through the autotune.  In particular, Hagiwara Mai and Nakajima Saki sound great as autobots.  After the first chorus we are treated to Shimizu Saki rapping.  Captain, BTW, seems to have gone to the Takahashi Ai school of face touching based on her close up shots.  Back to the music, the song seems like an excuse to sing a catchy and repetitive chorus.  In fact, I can’t really remember much about the verses.  Having listened to the song a few times now, I really wish the production did more to make the instrumental stand out.  To my ear, there are no distinctive instrumental sounds to this song.

The rest of the girls?  Kumai Yurina is still tall.  Yajima Maimi looks great, but still bothers me.  Sudou Maasa still doesn’t leave an impression on me.  As for Sugaya Risako: what the hell is going on with her hair?!

Do I like it?  If this was “take it” or “leave it” I would leave it.  I will probably be humming the chorus over and over, but there isn’t enough song here for me.

Leave a Reply

