GENTLEMAN

Because I have to … that’s why! The new PSY video is out.

As of writing this on April 14 at 1600, there are 39,457,944 views. The PV was published yesterday. At this rate, PSY will have 14,402,149,560 views on one year. At this rate, he will have one billion views before the end of the month. How’s that for crappy interpolation?

But really, if you like PSY’s hijinks, then this is right up your alley. I’m not sure how I feel about the “Abracadabra” dance insert, yet. I’m glad that it will probably bring people to the “Abracadabra” video (a classic of K Pop), but the recycling of the “hip-dance” feels a tad uninspired. And … Ga-In is hot. Any time, any day.

Personally speaking, anytime I can get an Asian man who is not a martial artist in the Western public eye, I consider it a win. I could argue the “Asian Man as comic relief” angle, but this comedy is a foil for the superior white man. I’ll allow it.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Recommended Reading: April 15th, 2013 | Idolminded

  2. I’m not shocked how quickly this is getting popular since everyone was loving Gangnam Style last year. Right now, I think it’s probably at 80 million views.

    Like

Leave a Reply

