Be Kind, (Promotional Video) Rewind – 20161029 to 20161105


Over at New School Kaidan, I write a few words about some of the recently released promotional videos. This is a collection of those write-ups, with a few words sometimes added after a week+ of viewing.

This week, we have promotional videos from DEEP GIRL, Younapi, Musubizm, Kus Kus, JYUJYU, Akishibu Project, ONEPIXCEL, P.IDL, 7 ☆ 3, Zenbu Kimi no Sei da, Rock A Japonica, and WHY@DOLL


DEEP GIRL – Out Of Control (Live Video)


In this new DEEP GIRL live video, Mashiro, Non, Rikopin, and Kanon cover 90’s act Hoobastank’s “Out of Control”. Of course, this is part of a series of Live Video’s that the group released in the last month or so. Frankly, this song selection doesn’t really work for me. But, the girls appear to be having a lot of fun with this song so I might just give them a pass (even for Hoobastank). I guess that’s all my hangups, really. I’m just really thirsty for some original music from these girls.

Rewind +
No, I’m still not a fan of Hoobastank, and I haven’t listened to this since

DEEP GIRL Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes






__________________________________________________________________________________
Younapi – été


From the very first few notes of this promotional video, I could tell I would have some amount of affection for Younapi’s “été”. No, it’s not a powerful song, nor is it as lively as the recent work from her group, Yurumerumo!. I just love the sound of the percussion wafting through the trees sounding like it’s from the Wurlitzer organ I played when I was nine. I love the the nursery rhyme melody that sounds like my older and cooler cousin is singing me to sleep in the tree house in our backyard. Visually, seeing the pink haired idol traipsing through the forest in her babydoll dress feels all sorts of right. Younapi’s “Return to My Innocence” might be a bit hard to come by, but I did find you a link at CD Japan.

Rewind +
Still enchanted by this PV. I really feel like I’m in an alternate universe when I watch it.


Buy Younapi’s “Return to My Innocence”!

CD

CD
CDJapan

Younapi / You’ll Melt More! Official Links
Web Site | Web Site (Yurumerumo!) | Twitter | YouTube | Facebook | iTunes


__________________________________________________________________________________
New PV Alert: DEEP GIRL – Sweetness (Live Video)


For the latest DEEP GIRL live video, the foursome perform Jimmy Eat World’s “Sweetness”. The group trade heavily in 1990’s nostalgia with their picks of covers. These choices may be pleasing to many of us watching (I remember Jimmy Eat World quite clearly) but I’m getting the feeling that enough is enough. DEEP GIRL have made their point: they’ve connected with us through common and nostalgic musical influences, they’ve shown us how great their lives are, and we’ve probably all picked out our favorite girl by now. We really need some more original music at this point.

Rewind +
Honestly, I heard enough of this song in the 90’s. I’ve no reason to revisit this

DEEP GIRL Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes


__________________________________________________________________________________
Musubizm – Maho no Kagi wo Te ni Shitara


Musubizm’s latest brings us the girls working 9 to 5 jobs like they were normal girls. The girls are connected by a toy car they roll towards each other. Eventually, they find the key … literally! “Maho no Kagi wo Te ni Shitara” is a refreshing change from the performance heavy promotional videos that most idol groups favor. Musically, I like the rock arrangement that dips lightly into some shoegaze sounds and the guitar leads that could have percolated from The Pillows. Yes, this agrees with me greatly and I find myself liking it more with each repeated listen. Musubizm’s “Maho no Kagi wo Te ni Shitara” rolls into stores on November 15, 2016.

Rewind +
Musubizm really grew on me. This is great song, even if the PV didn’t hold too much replay value.

Buy Musubuzm’s “Maho no Kagi wo Te ni Shitara”!

Musubizm Official Links
Web Site | Line | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Facebook


__________________________________________________________________________________
Kus Kus – Picolation


I can’t help it. Kus Kus is incredibly cute; I powerless against them. The twosome’s latest electro influenced song, “Picolation” unleashes choreography that actually accents the groups small size. There’s some stop motion work that looks straight from Pythagora Switch, and of course Mai and Yui being their adorable selves. Like I said, I’m powerless. Now, can we talk about how the alcove that serves as the dance shot set is shaped like a skull? Kus Kus’s “Picolation” hits stores on November 2, 2016.

Rewind +
It’s so catchy, it’s so cute. I’m actually embarrassed by how much I replay “Picolation”. There was a time when I was worried about the future of this group, so I’m glad we have more from Kus Kus.

Buy Kus Kus’s “Picolation”!

Type A

Type A
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Type B

Type B
CDJapan

Type C

Type C
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Kus Kus Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | Facebook | iTunes


__________________________________________________________________________________
JYUJYU – Noroi Hajime


Just in time for Halloween, JYUJYU released the PV for their October 25, 2016 release, “Noroi Hajime”. If you’ve ever wondered what it was like to have three spooky black robed idols murder you repeatedly, then this promotional video is for you. Relentlessly shot POV style, Neu, Miori and Minoru find new ways to dispatch you, the player, repeatedly. You wake up, gather yourself, and soon find the girls emotionless in their homicidal pursuit. The knife? The ax? The gun? Why not all three! JYUJYU will throw in a burial for free! I’m going to watch these girls. More precisely, I’m going to make sure my back is never turn towards them.

Rewind +
Still damn creepy. I’ve gone and familiarized myself a bit with JYUJYU’s discography, and at this point I like the PV more than the song. Still, I’m a goth at heart so I’ll keep tabs on them.


Buy JYUJYU’s “Noroi Hajime”!

CD

CD
CDJapan

JYUJYU Official Links
Web Site | Twitter | YouTube | Soundcloud


__________________________________________________________________________________
Akishibu Project – Eien White Teeth


OK, yes. Akishibu Project’s latest promotional video looks like an advert for toothpaste. “Eien White Teeth” IS a promotional vehicle for the Okamura group, who manufacture dental products and oral care products. Sparkling smiles glisten aplenty, but what really works for this PV is the girls of Akishibu Project. They make the best of the brushing choreography and present a great song.

Rewind +
There’s something about this group …

Akishibu Project Official Links
Web Site | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes


__________________________________________________________________________________
ONEPIXCEL – Analoganize (Short Ver.)


ONEPIXCEL’s gets a PV out to you with the live PV for “Analoganize” from their 1st single “TONDEKE / Analoganize” . The song’s rhythmic punch is a nice hook for this young group. You will also notice the girls are singing with a live drummer and guitarist. My interest in the group is piqued knowing that they’re are performing with musicians. But then again, seeing the musicians lining up with the canned music track imperfectly takes me out of it. “TONDEKE / Analoganize” hits stores on November 23, 2016.

Rewind +
I’m glad to have had the opportunity to properly take a listen to ONEPIXCEL. Now I can say a little bit more than “Hey isn’t this that group with that one Kenshuusei?” That said, I like TONDEKE a bit more than this.


Buy ONEPIXCEL’s “TONDEKE / Analoganize”!

CD+BluRay

CD+Blu Ray
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

ONEPIXCEL Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

__________________________________________________________________________________
P.IDL – Teenage Blues


P.IDL’s latest promotional video serves as the opening song for Toei Animation’s 60th anniversary work, “Pop in Q”. The girls serve up lots of high school scenes as though they were delivered straight from the anime. Frankly, the featured girls match uncannily with the animated idol group from “Pop in Q”. I really hope this tie-in provides a big break for P.IDL- they seem like a great set of girls waiting for their time in the limelight. “Pop in Q”, the animated movie, reaches theaters on December 23.

Rewind +
honestly, I haven’t listened to this one much.

P.IDL Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | Facebook | iTunes

__________________________________________________________________________________
7 ☆ 3 – Tomaranai Omoi


7 ☆ 3 (Shichi Sun) release an attractive promotional video for their song “Tomaranai Omoi”. I enjoy this release on many levels. The song has a great chorus hook that’s highlighted with some great vocal work. The campus setting is always a great idea, and unlike some PVs, I feel like I got a good look at the grounds. Finally, I like the red dresses quite a bit. They’re a passionate red with strapless shoulders and mesh flower accents – who can resist?

Rewind +
A really pretty song, great chorus, but ultimately a teeny bit too bland. Those dresses are something, though.

7 ☆ 3 Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

__________________________________________________________________________________
Zenbu Kimi no Sei da – WORLD END CRISIS


Ahead of their album “Anima Animusu PRDX”, yami kawaii act Zenbu Kimi no Sei da release their promotional video for “WORLD END CRISIS feat ◎Ya Shidare”. The girls do their thing in a black walled set with retro microphones. There’s nothing more to focus on than the girls and their expressions- sometimes cloying, somtimes menacing. The song is the hardest rocking song I’ve heard from these girls, and I think they do a good job. Such a simple video leaves a lasting impression, which speaks volumes to the work. “Anima Animusu PRDX” arrives in stores on November 9, 2016

Rewind +
OK, I think you can see it’s been a busy week. This rocker isn’t exactly what I’m looking for in Zenbu Kimi no Sei da.


Buy Zenbu Kimi no Sei da’s “Anima Animusu PRDX”!

CD Album

CD Album
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Zenbu Kimi no Sei da Official Links
Web Site | Twitter | YouTube | Facebook | Google+ | iTunes

__________________________________________________________________________________
Rock a Japonica – Dakedo Yume Miru


The promotional video for Rock a Japonica’s third single “Dakedo Yume Miru” looks something special. Manga pages featuring the members of the Stardust idol group intercut with the actual girls in school settings. The real draw for the release is an A+ song with some great electro-sounds in an otherwise pop song. “Dakedo Yume Miru”‘s great arrangement accents a catchy chorus and some fun choreography. I only wish we could see more of these girls in the PV. Stick around for the reveal at the end of the video. Rock a Japonica’s “Dakedo Yume Miru” dreams itself into stores on November 23, 2016.

Rewind +
OK, this song I’ve listened the hell out of. I love the production and I love the dance. Seriously love this.

Buy Rock a Japonica’s “Dakedo Yume Miru”!

CD+BluRay

CD+Blu Ray
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Kateika Edition

Kateika Edition
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Taiiku Edition

Taiiku Edition
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Ongaku Edition

Ongaku Edition
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Zugakosaku Edition

Zugakosaku Edition
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Dotoku Edition

Dotoku Edition
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Rock a Japonica Official Links
Web Site | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | iTunes

__________________________________________________________________________________
WHY@DOLL – Sumire Aioraito


WHY@DOLL’s latest release finds the twosome in a life and death struggle against … cake. Chiharu and Haruna bake the hell out of a delicioius looking dessert over some tight funky sounds in this promotional video meant to look like a culinary how-to video. Personally, I really like the funk sounds and the simple catchiness of the chorus- all you alright? Definitely give the girls a listen should you find yourself needing more of that funk. “Sumire Aioraito” arrives at your local store on November 15, 2016.

Rewind +
Seriously funky. If Rock A Japonica wasn’t in the running, this would be my song of the week.


Buy WHY@DOLL’s “Sumire Aioraito”!

CD Single Maxi

CD Single Maxi
Amazon.jp | CDJapan

Why@Doll Official Links
Web Site | Blog: 1 2 | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

Leave a Reply

