The ℃-ute PV retrospective #4

℃-ute is going to disband on June 12, 2017. But before they do, I’m going to run through all of the group’s promotional videos for you. The promotional videos on this installment are for some of the less well-received singles from the group (well, at least for me). Actually, they’re not all that bad. Not-so-coincidentally, this certain time period was probably the lowest point of interest for my personal Hello! Project fandom. Well, enough about me …

Shochuu Omimai Moushiagamasu


Honestly, I have nothing but good things to say about this song. “Shochuu Omimai Moushiagamasu” was a brilliant light for the ℃-ute during this stage of their career. I remember this came out right around summer time, and the images of the girls enjoying themselves at the beach with that watermelon set the mood for a great vacation. I love the red and white outfits- eyecatching and cute. The end bit with the girls delivering letters to mail box was thought to be the girls sending messages to Arihara Kanna, currently taking a medical leave for bunions. Well, that was a nice thought but we all know how Kanna’s leave turned out …

EVERDAY Zekkouchou!!


We’ve reached the place where we say goodby to Umeda Erika. “EVERDAY Zekkouchou!!” seems like as logical a place for her to step off as any: the song is cheerful and bright much like Erika’s personality. The platform still shines mirror-like on the rooftop reflecting the clouds and patches of blue for this dance shot. Watching this here now, I’me struck by how great the girls look with these outfits. The choreography also looks much sharper than I remember. This last single for Erika never became one of my favorites, although I don’t dislike it.

SHOCK!


To me, “SHOCK! ” mainly stands out as the first release under the group’s final lineup of girls. Listening to it now, “SHOCK!” really sounds like it should have been credited as “Suzuki Airi featuring ℃-ute” Or maybe, “SHOCK! We gave all of your lines to Airi!” Well, no use in complaining now: the song ultimately proves itself forgettable.

Shigatsu sengen


This album track from “Shocking 5” probably doesn’t win many awards. I’m sure we’ve all seen album track PVs with more creativity and production that “Shigatsu Sengen”. To be honest, the ugly gray walls combined with the outfits makes the group look a bit like zoo keepers behind the lion attraction just before park opening. At least the song is a pleasant listen.

Campus Life ~Umarete Kite Yokatta~


When I was preparing for this series of articles, I found myself looking forward to seeing “Campus Life ~Umarete Kite Yokatta”. I think this release puts the group solidly into their transitional phase. For the first time, ℃-ute performs a song more adult in theme and they actually look like they fit the bill, more or less. I’m down with those pink school blazers and ties. I’m down with the scenes o the girls fooling around on campus. I’m down with the tennis court choreography and those Elaine Benes kicks. Charming and catchy, “Campus Life ~Umarete Kite Yokatta” is a great way to end today’s backward glance at ℃-ute.


Shop the ℃-ute Discography!
~theNumber244~

Note: This site participates in the amazon.co.jp associates and the cdjapan affiliates programs, a program with hundreds of thousands of members to promote sales on the Internet . Using the links above can help credit up to 10% of your purchase to the site and its writers to help keep this website afloat at no additional cost to you.

℃-ute Official Links
Web Site | Blog | Twitter | YouTube | Facebook | Google+ | iTunes

One response

  1. I have fond memories of Everyday Zekkochou. I remember how everyone was so effed Erika didn’t have a load of lines, but I thought it was a great, feel-good, cheery song to send her off with. It’s still a song I go back to on occasion when it’s been a long, stressful day. I tried learning the dance, because everyone seemed to work it! But everyone did look great in their outfits!

    Haha, oh SHOCK. Really not a song I’d go back to, it doesn’t make it to their concert set list that often either, apparently? I remember how the five of them said they’d leave if production ever do that to them again.

    I have no recollection of listening to Shigatsu Sengen… Or maybe I did and it’s just that forgettable.

    I do remember Campus Life. It seems at this point, the five of them (or maybe production) finally found a sound they can work with for them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

